Closures Implemented for Bluewater and Diener Canyon Fire Area

April 14, 10:00 p.m.

The Cibola National Forest has temporarily closed a portion of the Mt. Taylor Ranger District encompassing the Bluewater and Diener Canyon Fires.  The closure area includes all of the land contained within the following boundary:  beginning where Highway 612 ends and Forest Service Road (FSR) 178 begins, FSR 178 to the intersection with FSR 480; FSR 480 to intersection of FSR 50; FSR 50 to the intersection of Country Road 49; and, County Road 49 to the Forest boundary (as displayed in the closure area map).

This temporary closure is effective April 14, 2018, and shall remain in effect until August 31, 2018, or until rescinded, whichever occurs first.

In addition, the Bureau of Land Management Land has temporarily closed public lands in Cibola County within the area of the Bluewater Fire to all unauthorized entry, effective immediately.  This closure affects public lands within the Bluewater Creek Area of Critical Environmental Concern, about 9 miles northwest of Milan, NM, and adjacent public lands administered by the BLM.

This emergency closure is necessary to ensure public and firefighter safety during firefighting activities and initial suppression rehabilitation efforts.